110,000 words in 45 minutes

Last Wednesday I had the privilege of sharing my work with a multidisciplinary audience as part of the Climate Histories seminar series hosted by CRASSH (Centre for Research in the Arts, Social Sciences and Humanities) at the University of Cambridge. The audience included social anthropologists, civil engineers, people working in policy and everything in between.

I was given the mammoth task of summarising my entire PhD thesis into a 45 minute presentation. Not easy when you consider that the original thesis was 110,000 words. However condensing it down into something more digestible was inevitable if the knowledge it contains was ever going to make it beyond my supervisors’ bookshelves.

It really was a pleasure to be able to share my work with such an engaging audience – I’m sure I learned more than they did from the experience, as the questions they asked and the debate that ensued took the research in new directions that I never would have imagined with my blinkered engineer’s brain!

Listen to the full audio recording and download the accompanying powerpoint.

Listen to the other talks or find out more about the CRASSH Climate Histories Seminar Series. Particularly recommended is Richard Fraser’s account of the the impact that large scale wind power in Inner Mongolia has had on both traditional and modern ways of living.

Leave a Reply

